Quid Rides? De te Fabula Narratur

What are you laughing at? The joke's on you.

Returning to the Fray…

Posted by Anthony on January 11, 2015

When I had initially begun this blog, it was to be as a repository for my published articles while I was in graduate school and wrote for the Rutgers (Newark) Observer. The idea was that I would put the articles out for consumption in case anything ever happened to the website for the paper, a wise decision in hind-site. I did write a few articles after the fact, but as life often can do to one I found myself flooded with all sorts of distractions and so felt that the time had come to cease my publications here. This would simply be a testimony to my past for anyone who cared to read the articles.

No longer…

The recent events in France involving the massacre of cartoonists at Charlie Hebdo has galvanized me and reminded me of why I began writing in the first place: the need to wield the pen as a weapon against ignorance and violence is as real today as it was when I first started writing this blog almost eight years ago. The assault on freedom of speech and expression has now entered (in fact, it has been going in this direction for a while now) a new phase where the theocratic encroachments on us threaten to render us all mute. This is something up with which I will not put.

So, for those of you who have read this page in the past, I welcome you back. For those of you who will find this page in the future, I welcome you in general. And for those of you who truly and earnestly believe that you can silence a civilization through blood and terror, you have another thing coming…

Leave a Reply

 
